Overview of the Eye

The eye is shaped like a round ball with a slight bulge at the front created by the cornea. The eye has three main layers that lie flat against each other to form the eye ball. The outer layer of the eyeball is white and tough, it is called the sclera. The middle layer is the choroid which makes up the iris. The inner layer is the retina. The retina is a thin layer of tissue that lines the back of the eye on the inside, think of it as wallpaper. The purpose of the retina is to convert light into neural signals that the brain processes into the images we see. The most sensitive part of the retina is called the macula. The purpose of the macula is to provide sharp, central vision. Together these three layers each contribute to your health and vision.
For more information on the eye and its structures, see the American Academy of Ophthalmology

Commonly Seen Eye Diseases

Age Related Macular Degeneration


Diabetic Retinopathy


Common Treatments

Scleral Buckle


Cataract Surgery

Laser Treatment

Intravitreal Injections